Home > Motivate Yourself > Properiety

Properiety

By: R.Hundoo.

I am Rajeev Hundoo, and today I would like to write my own personal story about an incident that occurred in my young age and that changed me to a better person.

I remember when I was 17 and it was my first year of graduation, when my father received guests at home, the guests were my father’s colleague and his family and this kind of event was very usual, every Sunday this family would visit us and together both families would enjoy good moments.  Beans and rice was the usual spread.

On one of such Sunday, I remember coming home after completing some chores and entered the room.

Instead of greeting the guests with folded hands and say Namaste or Sat Sri Akaal (as he was a Sikh), I simply said, “Hello Uncle”.

My father’s immediate reaction was of anger. He started scolding me for saying “Hello” instead of proper salutations. Uncle tried to pacify my father that it was not such a grave matter. My father responded that I had to be taught a lesson so that next time I may not come forward to shake his hands.

He ordered me to go out and return again, to do proper salutation. So I did as per his order, I went out, returned and greeted uncle with Sat Sri Akaal and left the room immediately.  I was annoyed for being humiliated.

My father was a very loving person. In the evening when family friends had left, my father found me still sulking. He took me out to a Coffee shop and gave me a nice treat. This was his usual treatment after he had given me a dressing which though was rare.

After four decades as I reflect on it, I feel proud that my father had tried to inculcate proper upbringing at that time. Never in my life, have I forgotten to pay proper respects according to age or relationship.

My father expired in 2010, with age of 87. Even though when he was alive I may have disagreed with him on many situations, but after his departure, now I realize his teaching and all his words of wisdom. I truly miss you Dad, and you will be always alive inside my heart!

How many parents now days try to inculcate proper upbringing to their children by ignoring small issues? I think it is proper duty of parents to instill propriety in their children from any wrong they feel.

Categories: Motivate Yourself
  1. Shammi
    February 23, 2011 at 6:03 pm

    You are lucky to have such parents…It is equally great if one can appreciate the greatness of others be it parents or other elders…Continue to follow the path of Dharma

    • rajeev
      February 24, 2011 at 5:18 am

      @ Shammi – Thank you for appreciating.

  2. rajeev
    February 24, 2011 at 5:20 am

    A very big Thank You Rajiv for putting this on your blog. It has made my day.

    • February 24, 2011 at 9:04 am

      @ Rajeev – Its my pleasure, your request is a command to me. This blog is not mine, but its ours. I consider yourself, Shammi, Pinky and Amisha the partners of this blog and the active readers who share stories and have same goal as mine, to bring love and light into peoples lives. I hope to find more partners to join us and start sharing this blog with their friends, colleagues and loved ones. World needs a real shift of consciousness 🙂

  3. February 24, 2011 at 7:35 am

    Lucky man, I am that even i has such a good father but still ……….?

    • rajeev
      February 24, 2011 at 8:24 am

      @ Silent Observer – Thank You Sarabjeet…

  4. pinky
    February 24, 2011 at 8:12 am

    We need to sacrifice some of our personal wishes for the sake of the child when they are growing up. So, protecting the family must be the first thing as far as possible. Many times you have to let go of some of your temptations.

    • rajeev
      February 24, 2011 at 8:25 am

      @ Pinky – Agree Pinky…

  5. February 24, 2011 at 9:07 am

    @ Shammi, Pinky & Silent observer – Thank you for dropping by and commenting on our friend R.Hundoo story. Rajeev has already appreciated through comments above 🙂

    @ Rajeev – Thank you very much brother 🙂

  6. pinky
    February 24, 2011 at 9:19 am

    thank you rajiv to think us as part of your Blog and called us as partner….Really thanks…

  7. February 24, 2011 at 9:47 am

    @ Pinky – You are a partner, you don’t have to thank me, your deeds counts 🙂

  8. ankita hundoo
    February 24, 2011 at 10:38 pm

    Thanks a lot for sharing the incident! It is a great one 🙂

    • rajeev
      February 25, 2011 at 5:04 am

      Thank you Anku. Love you. Blessings.

  9. Sheila
    February 25, 2011 at 5:41 am

    Thank you Rajeev for sharing this story. We hide many such incidents from our youth because of embarrassment or shyness. I too have a similar story, and I have kept the lesson I learned from it. I strive to provide the same sort of upbringing for my children. It’s encouraging to know that there are others in the world who want to live life on the best footing.

    Thanks also to Rajiv (and the “team”) for providing this vehicle for communication – it is always uplifting reading the stories on this blog.

    • rajeev
      February 25, 2011 at 5:52 am

      Thankyou so much. We would be lucky to learn from your experience. Any thing enlightening is always welcome by good people who want to change self for betterment and try to make others better.

  10. Nidhi
    February 25, 2011 at 5:46 am

    beautiful 🙂

    • February 26, 2011 at 12:57 pm

      @ Nidhi – Thank you for dropping by 🙂

  11. arunpace@yahoo.com
    February 25, 2011 at 6:17 am

    It’s a great that you are still remembering the incident and has shared with us. I’m sure you will share such incidents and superb parenting you have received so that we ‘ll be encouraged and enlighten for betterment and fruitful life. Regards.

    • rajeev
      February 25, 2011 at 6:39 am

      Thank you Arun.

  12. anil_bhan24@yahoo.co.in
    February 25, 2011 at 6:35 am

    Yes, yr pa was a nice soul as u r ……we understand r parent when they leave us and depart forever…..we never understand them when they r alive.. and many a time we argue with them.. and hurt them… mamujan god bless u. anil

    • rajeev
      February 25, 2011 at 6:39 am

      Thank you Anil.

  13. February 25, 2011 at 11:47 am

    @ Ankita, Sheila, Arun & Anil – Thank you very much for dropping by and commenting on R.Hundoo story, he has thanked everyone. I wish you all could comment more and more. This blog belongs to all those who wants to grow unselfishly and spread the love, light and wisdom in all directions to the world. We Partners need more hands, without all of you this blog has no meaning. Lets all hold this chain and attact more people to join us, together we can make difference 🙂

    @ Rajeev – Thank you for appreciating everyone, now I truly feel that I am not alone in this journey 🙂

  14. Amisha
    February 25, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Thanks for shering this we all had some incident like this with our parents but when we live in two culture as a parents we can’t igonre any small issue.Thanks for couting us as a partners Rajiv.

    • rajeev
      February 26, 2011 at 4:54 am

      First Thank You. When we live with our parents, many a times we agree to disagree due to clash of maybe ego, perceptions, reactions, ideas etc. Only when we are away from them or loose them or also when we become parents we realize the true worth of our parents. Then once in a while we can pay tribute to them by sharing such incidents. This was my one small effort. Thanks to all who have found time to appreciate this effort of mine.

  15. February 26, 2011 at 8:59 am

    @ Amisha – Rajeev has replied your comment. You are most welcome as I mentioned all who are joining, commenting regularly and are helping hands on this blog are Partners, we are looking for more, and I am confident that we all will find more Partners to spread the love and light in peoples lives 🙂

  16. fayaz master
    January 6, 2012 at 5:00 pm

    nice one

    • January 6, 2012 at 5:19 pm

      Thank you Fayaz for dropping by. Keep coming 🙂

  17. Sunny Dhillon
    August 23, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Rajiv, Are you Kumud Aunty’s son and Mandira’s brother? You lived in Chandigarh and went to NPS?
    Regards,
    Sunny Dhillon

    • August 23, 2013 at 5:59 pm

      Hi Sunny,

      I am not.
      Thanks and regards,
      Rajiv.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

