Home > Motivate Yourself > The Burnt Biscuits….

The Burnt Biscuits….

Shared by: Shammi.

When I was a kid….my mom liked to make food for breakfast and for dinner every now and then. And I remember one night in particular when she had made breakfast after a long, hard day at work. On that evening so long ago, my mom placed a plate of eggs, sausage and extremely burned biscuits in front of my dad. I remember waiting to see if anyone noticed! Yet all my dad did was reach for his biscuit, smile at my mom and ask me how my day was at school. I don’t remember what I told him that night, but I do remember watching him smear butter and jelly on that biscuit and eat every bite!

When I got up from the table that evening, I remember hearing my mom apologize to my dad for burning the biscuits. And I’ll never forget what he said: “Honey, I love burned biscuits.”

Later that night…I went to kiss Daddy good night and I asked him if he really liked his biscuits burned. He wrapped me in his arms and said, “Your Mom put in a hard day at work today and she’s real tired…And besides – a little burnt biscuit never hurt anyone!”

You know…life is full of imperfect things…..and imperfect people. I’m not the best at hardly anything and I forget birthdays and anniversaries just like everyone else.

What I’ve learned over the years is that learning to accept each other’s faults – and choosing to celebrate each other’s differences – is one of the most important keys to creating a healthy, growing and lasting relationship.

Learn to take the good, the bad and the difficult parts of your life and take them for what they are worth. Because in the end, a burnt biscuit isn’t a deal-breaker!

We could extend this to any relationship. In fact, understanding is the base of any relationship, be it a husband-wife or parent-child or friendship!

“Don’t put the key to your happiness in someone else’s pocket…keep it in your own.”

So Please pass me a biscuit and yes…the burnt one will do just fine.!.!.!.!

Life is too short to wake up with regrets.

Categories: Motivate Yourself
  1. Ryan
    December 10, 2010 at 10:03 am

    Good learning, Thanks for bringing us such good stuff, Rejiv

  2. December 10, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    @ Ryan – My pleasure Ryan, thanks for dropping by after long time 🙂

  3. Hussein
    December 11, 2010 at 8:57 am

    DEAR RAJU BHAI YOUR MAILS ARE PRECIOUS AS THEY ARE MOTAVATING AND PROVDING NEW VISION TO SEE LIFE. THANK YOU VERY MUCH.

  4. December 11, 2010 at 9:38 am

    @ Hussein – Actually that is my aim, to motivate others and bringing new perspectives in their lives, thank you so much for your valuable comment, please keep coming and commenting 🙂

  5. Rui Melo
    December 13, 2010 at 10:34 am

    Eu também adoro biscoitos queimados!… são os que sabem melhor!

  6. December 13, 2010 at 10:36 am

    @ Rui – Hahaha, boa, as vezes tambem gosto deles 🙂

  7. December 30, 2010 at 4:16 am

    Hey, i think you visited my website so i came to “return the favour”.I am trying to find things to improve my website!Is it ok if i use some of the things i saw here?!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

