Home > Motivate Yourself > SALT GAVE THE MEANING

SALT GAVE THE MEANING

A King who had three daughters desired to know how much they loved him. He decided to find out this matter from them directly and asked his eldest daughter, “How much do you love me? What does my love mean to you?” The eldest daughter immediately replied, “Your love to me is as strong as this castle.” The king delighted in her response and gave away that castle as his gift to her.

He then turned to his second daughter and asked, “How much do you love me?” She smiled saying, “Your love sparkles like the precious jewels of your kingdom.” The king’s heart bubbled with joy and he presented her with all the valuable jewels of his kingdom.

Finally he asked his third daughter the same question and she replied “Your love is like the salt of this world.” The king’s spirit weighed low and his wrath arose like the high tides of the sea for having compared his love to insignificant salt. He commanded his youngest daughter, “Henceforth, don’t you dare to look at my face.”

She left from the presence of her father and went to the chief chef of the royal kitchen and told, “Sir! May I find favor in your eyes. Please don’t put salt in any of the dishes that you are preparing for my father, your king on this day.” The chief chef agreed to her plea and while the king had his lunch that day, he turned red with anger because there was no salt in it. He questioned, “Why is there no salt?”

The chief chef knelt at the king’s feet and begged him for his forgiveness. He said, “The youngest princess had commanded me not to use salt in any of the food prepared today but serve it without salt to you.” The king quickly realized the message his youngest daughter tried to convey to him. He called her and said, “My dear daughter, I realize how precious is your love that you value me as the salt of this world.” Overwhelmed by his youngest daughter’s love for him, he gave her his kingdom. The youngest daughter proved that without the love of her father, the king, her life was meaningless.

Dear friend! Seek the Lord. Always give Him the first place in your life. “Blessed be God, Who has not turned away my prayer, Nor His mercy from me!”. “He will fulfill the desire of those who fear Him; He also will hear their cry and save them” Yes, the Lord takes great delight in granting you the desires of your heart when you delight in Him. So, rejoice and delight yourself in the Lord.

Prayer:

Loving Heavenly Father,

I commit my life into your hands. I thank you that you make me righteous by your grace and thank You for the promise that you will grant me the desires of my heart. It is your grace that sustains me in this world. Father, let your goodness, peace and joy follow me without ceasing.

In GOD’s name I pray. Amen.

Did this motivate you?

Categories: Motivate Yourself
  1. August 3, 2010 at 7:05 am

    A very well meaning story. We get carried away with worldly pleasures without realising that the materialistic things have insignificant value. Hence our comparisons also follow similar yardstick. Need to mend our values

  2. pinky
    August 3, 2010 at 7:31 am

    Thanks rajiv-Every man, at the bottom of his heart, wants to do right. But only he can do right who knows right; only he knows right who thinks right; only he thinks right who believes right
    (GOD).Values are not just words, values are what we live by. They’re about the causes that we champion and the people we fight for.

  3. August 3, 2010 at 7:50 am

    @ Shammi – Absolutely right, we need to mend our values, if we know only who we truly are, the world would be surely different from today’s 🙂

    @ Pinky – I agree, that’s why there is a saying “Tell me who is your friend, and I will tell you who you are”, its our quality of life that we take that describes our caracter 🙂

  4. Jennifer
    August 3, 2010 at 8:21 am

    Thank you for making a great start to my day! What a powerful message!

  5. August 3, 2010 at 11:16 am

    @ Jennifer – You are most welcome, I agree its truly powerful, keep coming 🙂

  6. reshma
    August 3, 2010 at 11:58 am

    thanx my dear bro…….n u r salt as well in my life dear.

  7. August 3, 2010 at 12:40 pm

    @ Reshma – You too are salt in my life sister. Keep coming 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

